Senators send a letter to NRC on nuclear safety program

25 March 2020

U.S. Senator John Barrasso (R-WY), chairman of the Senate Committee on Environment and Public Works (EPW) and Sens. Jim Inhofe (R-OK), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Mike Braun (R-IN), Mike Rounds (R-SD), John Boozman (R-AR), and Roger Wicker (R-MS) sent a letter to the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) regarding efforts to assess and modernize the NRC’s nuclear safety inspection program, known as the Reactor Oversight Process. 

In the letter, the senators support updating the Reactor Oversight Process to prioritize important nuclear safety activities in a way that protects the environment and powers the economy.